top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica Maxwell

How Do You Sleep?

Well. Fortunately, this something I have not struggled with. In recent conversations, many people have a hard time falling asleep or are not getting the sleep they need. I thought in today's post I would talk about how I sleep so well, of course I still have the grinding teeth at night issue, no one is perfect.


Here are some questions to ask yourself:


1.) Are you comfortable?

Do you feel safe in your own bed, do you like the bed you sleep on, how do the sheets feel, is your room clean?


The environment you are putting yourself in has a huge impact on the sleep you are getting. Of course you may not be able to afford the most luxurious sheets or a fancy mattress. These are important investments to your health and could really help your impact your heath. A good night sleep is something that is super important to me, which is why I chose to write about it. Your bed is a place you should enjoy. After all, you are in it 8 hours a night 7 days a week. Think about that for a second, totally worth having a nice one.


2.) What's on your mind?

Bills, Medical Issues, Love/Family Issues, Work, etc


Racing minds can keep us up all night, thinking and dwelling is only going to make it worse. I am a writer and a list taker, if my mind starts racing at night I have a journal in my nightstand. I take it out and write down whatever I am thinking or whatever is keeping me up in that moment. Be present, do only what you can and remember doing a small thing is still doing a thing.


3.) What did you do all day?

Were you active? Sit at a desk? Watch TV? Nap? Eat & Drink?


I am extremely active and don't take naps unless I am sick and even then I would sleep for hours without interruption. I try to go to bed about the same time each night unless it's a special occasion. I am constantly on the go from the moment I wake up until the second I fall asleep, I am a 10,000+ step a day person. By no means do you have to be this way, you be YOU! I do challenge you to find something active that makes you happy and schedule time for it, self care is super important and staying active is part of that self care.


Get creative there are so many things to keep you active aside from going to an actual gym. Some of this is only 15-30 minutes of your day, get off your phone and away from your computers and tv's.


Examples: Dance fitness class, Walking a dog, Riding a bicycle in the park, Volunteer for your favorite organization, Photographing nature, Cook and entire meal from scratch, then do all of the dishes by hand :) cleaning (pick a room, do one a day for the week)


This stuff will all make you tired and I think sometimes we put it off, I am guilty of it too. First, you will have accomplished something and second it's going to make you tired. You might even save some money on a cleaning company and can then go buy a better mattress. (My next blog will be some money saving tips)


4.) Are You Hungry?


Go eat. Don't starve because of the don't eat after 8 rule, you will never fall asleep. However do adjust your meals accordingly, maybe eat a bigger or later dinner the next day so you aren't hungry at that time again.


Full disclosure, I am not a sleep expert. I thought I would provide some tips because this is something that interests me and if this could help someone sleep that would be awesome! I do hope this is helpful, however if none of this is you or helpful to you, here is a link I found that includes 17 Proven Tips to Sleep Better at Night.


Goodnight. Sweet Dreams.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page